Christmas Cardmaking #2

Christmas Card stash 2014

This is my Christmas card stash, an embarrassment of riches.  Most are handmade from my Hunkydory windfall in November, a few from previous years, and a free box from WHSmith courtesy of O2 Priority.  Thank you all – I love a freebie.  We might have enough this year.

Remember I signed up to 5 issues of Cardmaking & Papercraft ?  That went well !  I recovered my £5 outlay by selling 2 of the magazine gifts on ebay, so the paper stash to make this year’s Christmas cards was effectively free.  And it is soo nice having the magazine delivered to my door.  But frugal me cannot afford the full price subscription so I will be saving my Christmas cards again this year – ie those received- for upcycling.

Extra kit required, if you are thinking of doing same >>

Cardmaking Essentials

  • Pack of Stickies from The Works – can be ordered online for free delivery to your local store.
  • Plain white card – Check thickness, should be ~240gsm.
  • Double sided sticky tape – 3 reels for £1 in Poundland DIY section, or The Works
  • Envelopes – I get mine from ebay clearance lines.
  • Scissors, a pencil & a sharp knife to score folds.
  • A drawer to store all your bits in.

The first 3 items can all be found at The Works, and I have listed other details in case you haven’t got a local store.   Look on ebay for topper sets or use the best bits saved from your Christmas cards.  Get creative.  How many cards do you send a year ?

 

~ by tgroom57 on December 8, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
