Blackberry Season ! – Jams & Fruit Crumble

It is a very good year for blackberries. I have a cupboard full of empty jam jars and bottling jars and last week I bought extra sugar, in anticipation. All this because pretty soon I will get bored with blackberry crumble (recipe below) – even though hey, it’s food. So here’s what I do with a glut of fruit.

1. Make fruit crumble. Crumble topping is dead easy to make, (4 flour, 2 marg or butter, 3 sugar or to taste) or you can find 30p packs of crumble topping in Tesco – currently on offer.

2. Bottle for future crumbles. Or freeze, except that I don’t have a freezer, but if I did I would pack up a lunchbox with berries for a few weeks time when the apples are in season. Bottling is slightly more tricky- a bit like jam making but with less cooking and less sugar, and to compensate I keep the jars in the bottom of the fridge.

DSC_0012

3. Jam. Is really easy once you pick the right fruit, or combination of fruits, to get the jam to set. I’ve made up a small pot of strawberry jam – see pic – but strawberry alone makes a runny jam and you are unlikely to have free redcurrants. Blackberry and apple makes good jam: 4 lb blackberries with 2 lb of cooking apple and when they are cooked and soft add 6 lb of sugar; or smaller quantities in the same proportion.
Full instructions on bbc website here and more briefly here

A word of caution here – never get hot jam on a ceramic hob. I’m told it eats through the glass and I love my Tricity hob to bits, so I can’t tell you if it does.

~ by tgroom57 on August 25, 2013.

One Response to “Blackberry Season ! – Jams & Fruit Crumble”

  1. Thank you so much for posting this for me! will bookmark this post. I was thinking blackberry and apple, now I know the quantities 😀

Leave a Reply

 
