Sleep – are you getting enough?

Sleeping like a baby

Sleep is my second favourite subject.  I’ve been practising for years and have it down to a fine art.  I have tested my ideas on that most difficult of test-subjects: the teenager – and on myself in the most dire circumstances – the night before a critical maths exam, when we got stuck on the M4.   If I wake them at the right time, my children wake up happy.

I’d like to rubbish the idea that 8 hours is a good amount of sleep.  8 hours is an average – meaning some people sleep more and some less.  8 hours is not enough for me, but some days it can be too much. 8 hours takes no account of how you feel on waking.

So what is the secret ?

It is really easy to remember: 4, 6 or 9 hours. unbroken. Sleep.
4 hours is enough for the first, critical sleep cycle to complete.
Use this to your advantage if you are feeling sleep-deprived: 4 hours is enough to keep you sane and refreshed.

6 or 9 hours are also good, and once past the first 4 hours it doesn’t matter so much if you wake up briefly.  The graph on wikipedia’s sleep page is here, if you are into that. Waking at the end of a cycle (4, 6 and 9) feels so much easier and energy levels are higher.  Waking in the middle of a cycle – 5, 7 or 8 hours – just means I want to stay in bed a while longer and maybe take a duvet day…z..z…zzz

~ by tgroom57 on October 22, 2010.

One Response to “Sleep – are you getting enough?”

  1. I don’t think I knew you had a blog. Looked at it today; very nice. Thanks for all of your input on mine.

Leave a Reply

 
