When’s the next Rummage Sale ?

I am surrounded by boxes – again.

I was doing so well, making space once I had the place to myself.  Two teenagers collect so much stuff, and they leave most of it behind when they move out.  Too quickly out-of-date, most of their things, like last year’s phone…  no, hang on- I had that. Last year’s games, then.  All on eBay: £10 towards the bills.

There was so much left over I also did a car boot sale (similar to a rummage sale in America – see wiki).  Added in a couple of things you really couldn’t send in the mail – like a vacuum cleaner from the loft, and some spare plants for the garden.   Lounged around in a school car park on a sunny Sunday morning, and made £50.

Two things to remember for car boot sales – 1) it is thirsty work, and 2) only ever take things that really are taking up too much room.  Nothing you think of as having a value – those things go on eBay.  That way, whatever you sell you can be genuinely pleased.  Most of my sales were for just £1.  I love car boot sales: the bigger the better, and given the choice I much prefer to be buying.

Then 2 weeks after I have this grand clear out, my eldest daughter says she might be moving back…

I’ll have to hold another car boot sale just to make room.

~ by tgroom57 on June 16, 2010.

One Response to “When’s the next Rummage Sale ?”

  1. Wohh just what I was looking for, thanks for putting up. “The only way of knowing a person is to love them without hope.” by Walter Benjamin.

Leave a Reply

 
